Overview

You can control who can view the dashboards, either a broad audience like your organization, just you or public you cherry pick. In this article you’ll learn the access restrictions mechanism and public sharing of dashboards.

Access restrictions

When you create a dashboard (or edit one of your dashboards) you can choose whether you allow others to access to it (be kind, sharing is caring) or keep it for yourself. You’ll find the following options to set up access restrictions:

  • My organization. Any logged in user in your instance can see the dashboard i.e., open dashboards for the whole organization. And they will see the dashboard “with your eyes”, what you see they will see.

  • Private. Only the creator of the dashboard can see it i.e., private dashboards, only you can see it.

This restriction can be set when you create the dashboard, or accessing through the lock menu. It’s indicated with an unlock icon if “My organization” is selected and with a lock icon if “Private” is selected.

Public sharing

Independently of the access restrictions set in the dashboard creation, my organization or private, the dashboard can be publicly shared. This option is intended to allow anonymous access, so anyone with the link can see the content of the dashboard, even without having access to the Jira instance.

To create a public link, click on the share icon in the top navigation bar, or in the Manage Dashboards section. Toggle the option to enable the public link, which is indicated in green.

In case you want to stop sharing publicly the dashboard, click on the share icon in the top navigation bar, or in the Manage Dashboards section. Toggle the option to disable the public link, which is indicated in grey.

See also